top of page

Slight Changes and Final Design

We created various prototype stems out of block of wood, with a hollowed centred for the wires. In our final product, we moved to a rigid stem and head that would move together, allowing the movement to be more visible. We made the stem of laser cut and stacked pieces of MDF board, sprayed green.

We then turned our attention to animating the device. We used acrylic to form the base, and a pin through the circular base cut-out that formed the bottom of the stem. This allows the stem to rotate on a single axis, for forward and backward movement.

The base of the stem is attached to a servo in the very bottom of our device, and it along with the led in the 'head' are controlled via an arduino. For the purposes of demonstration, we added a button which may be used to cycle through the six modes of LED flashing and stem movement.

Video:


SOPHIE'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#3

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

bottom of page